Marisa Ramirez and her Soft Jewellery.


Recently, I discovered the delightful work of Marisa Ramirez.  It is so happy and playful that I asked Marisa if she would write something about herself and her work for my blog. Fortunately,  Marisa accepted but she writes in Spanish so I had to translate. Unfortunately, my Spanish is very, very folkloristic.  But the general idea is there “subtitled” with fotos. Here’s her story:

marisa ramirez My name is Marisa. I’m married, have 2 children and live in Girona. One of my great passions is art. Via my restless studies regarding current artistic creation, I came across the work of Cynthia Korzekwa and felt a kinship with her way of making.  So I am happy that she asked me to write about my work and the sentiments behind it.

marisa ramirez

 bracelets

Since childhood, I have lived surrounded by relatives who enjoyed working with their hands using  different materials and different techniques, guided only by intuition, to create precious and unique works  that, contemplating them, gave me access to their souls.  Their world,  concentrated in their hands, seemed to be converted into a sea of ​​tight spots, a railway station model, an embroidery of flowers, a blanket, a sweater …. With this background, I learned as a child to be able to express a part  of my interior, to translate this reality using yarns, fabrics, paper. Furthermore, the exercise was comforting, pleasant, intimate and, recognized by my surroundings, allowed me to feel connected to what I loved.¡Redondo!

marisa ramirez 

brooch

Over the years, there have been  times when I have been less active than other times depending upon other vital situations in my life that demanded my attention. Now my creative output has grown continuously giving me great serenity, pleasure and joy. I have so much fun working that the joy and love that it brings makes me feel very connected to the Wholeness. I even dare to show my work to others! I work whenever I can even if I only have five minutes to spare. As I have a husband, two kids, a house, a profession and space necessary for my spiritual evolution techniques, my time is limited. To compensate, I began making works that are small in format. But I’m always willing to dedicate even a few minutes in order to finish one of the many pieces that I have on hand.

marisa ramirez

 brooches

In recent times, I especially enjoy crocheting. I make acessories that I call soft jewelry  as well as small objects or sculptures that are also soft. But for some reason, I can not knit, draw or paint. I work without schemes, patterns or preconceived ideas.   I reach into my stash boxes and feel, touch, and look at my tools, threads, buttons, beads, wool, ribbons, stones, shells.  Then something inside of me gets activated, my hands move, my thoughts drop, everything flows and I’m happy, knowing that I’m in my essence. I have much material that I have accumulated over the years– parts, objects, fiber, papers.  I find them, buy them or they are given to me. I look at them and then, at some unexpected moment, I will find the piece necessary to finish a work.  In this sense, I feel very comfortable with art movements related to the hand-made, recycled materials and outsider art.

marisa ramirez

 necklace made from earphones

In recent years, thanks to internet, I have learned about authors and free-thinking artists who are far away from conventional modern art circuits.  I’m in debted to them for having learned  a “skill” and for having strengthened confidence in myself. I could sum it up using the phrase of an author I found on Cynthia’s blog: “Creating is the capacity to give a new identity, new colors, new soul to every object we see around us.  It is a capacity that all humans have but that few recognize. It is a primary need not given consideration.” Alida Mazzaro

Marisa Ramirez

La Totalidad   

 Marisa Ramirez Work

Marisa’s Tumblr

marisa ramirez

brooch

marisa ramirez

 soft sculpture

marisa ramirez

 bracelet

marisa ramirez

 brooch

marisa ramirez

 brooch

marisa ramirez

brooch

About Art for Housewives

I want to make my life photogenic!
This entry was posted in People and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

