Guatemala Adventures – Part 7


More huipiles!

Rocky Mountain Web Stitchers

It was my great fortune to come away from Antigua with many beautiful examples of Guatemalan textiles. I was quite eager to begin The Project. As it turned out, we ended up staying at a hotel in Guatemala City for two days directly following our trip to Antigua. So, while my husband attended to company business, the textiles and I got to know each other better.

As you recall, my intent was to use these items on my walls. I planned to stretch them over paint canvases and hang them like pieces of artwork. As I was new to understanding their structure, especially the huipiles, the first thing I decided to do was photograph, analyze and then mentally “desconstruct” them. One of the main things I had to keep in mind was the fact that half an inch on all sides of any pieces I came up with, was going…

View original post 334 more words

About Art for Housewives

I want to make my life photogenic!
This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

