Spicy Dreams on Paros

On my way to and from the beach at Livadia, I pass near a spice shop, με τη σεσουλα (“with the scoop”), which sells many spices and herbs predominately from the island. And, having a weakness for spices, I try to be very disciplined and walk  by without going in but am not always successful.  So, on one of my non-successful days, I walked in and bought a bag of dried St. John’s Wort as well as some dried wormwood. Wow.

SPICE SHOP

με τη σεσουλα (across from The Ancient Cemetery)

I’ve already written about how much more I dream while on Paros (HERE) and that was before The Wort.  Now, if you go on internet and look-up St. John’s Wort, you will find that it is often used as an anti-depressant.  Luckily, I’ve never had the problem of chronic depression. But I must admit that in the past 3 years, I have had much anxiety in terms of the future.  And it’s not psychological as much as it is just Common Sense. The world is getting spOOKier and spOOKier every day with or without my participaton.  Of course I worry about myself, but my main consideration is for my kids—will they be able, in the future, to have an income and will they be able to have water.  In other words, will they be able to survive. So, with this in mind, I bought these dried leaves and made myself a tea. That night I had a dream so intense that I still remember it. This caused me to go back to the net and look up The Wort in terms of dreams to understand what had animated my animation.  And apparently, St. John’s Wort stimulates Vivid Dreams.  Many people are into Lucid Dreaming, the awareness that you are dreaming. Not me.  When I go to bed at night, all I ask for is a good night’s rest and not something else to think about.  Many years ago, I did some dream analyzing where I had to wake up every morning and immediately write down my dreams before I forgot them.  What a stress! But one dream in particular gave me needed information.  And another time a dream told me where to look for a pair of lost earrings and I found them. But what the real purpose of dreams is we will probably never know.

Dreams are thoughts in disguise.

ancient cemetary ancient cemetary 1ancient cemetaryancient cemetary
Walking to Livadia for my swim, I also pass by the Ancient Cemetery (above fotos) which faces the sea.  Excavations there revealed some of the most important Aegean funerary monuments dating from the 8th cen. BC until the 3rd century AD.

Related links: Introduction to Sigmund Freud’s Theory on Dreams + The Interpretation of Dreams by Sigmund Freud (1900)pdf + PAROS+ Paros related links HERE

p.s.  Jo of Cranky Ceramics sent this link regarding the use of St. John’sWort while taking medications

About Art for Housewives

The Storyteller....
This entry was posted in Paros and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spicy Dreams on Paros

  1. jo Quirk says:

    Be careful with this powerful herb.http://www.tga.gov.au/safety/alerts-medicine-stjwort-000313.htm
    I would love to see an anglicised pronunciation of Greek script in your posts, not just English translation if that is possible. St John’s Wort in Australia is on the noxious weeds list. I guess it likes the climate. You appear to have the right conditions to grow many herbs. They don’t like to be fussed over. Try wormwood for your mozzie problem too. And Stevia loves the sun. My kids all have jobs that never existed before they were born. Just show them how things grow and teach them resilience. They will adapt like plants. I love your posts.

  2. Kalimera Jo!
    με τη σεσουλα is pronounced “me ti sesoula” (their logo:http://hellasislands.gr/paros/map-par/sesoula/index.html)
    And thanks for the link regarding the use of St. John’s Wort if taking medications. Luckily, it’s not something I have to take in considertaion but others may not be as lucky.
    Love your comments! Thanks for taking the time.

Leave a comment